Backup Wizard

OE Backup Tiger Help Index

The Backup Wizard will help you back up the following data in Outlook Express:

When the Backup Wizard is launched, you can see “OE Backup Tiger / Backup Wizard” in the title bar of the program.

The Backup Wizard includes the following step:

 

Step 1 (Settings)

Selecting data for backing up.

At this step you select data you want to back up.

Identities – the tree with the list of all Outlook Express identities.

Outlook Express uses identities so that several users on one computer can use the application. Outlook Express can have one or more identities. The personal data of a separate user is stored in each identity.

The following data from each identity can be backed up:

OE Backup Tiger can back up one or several identities in one backup file. For each identity you can select data you want to back up from the above list.

If an identity is empty, it is marked as empty in the tree and you cannot select data from it to for back it up.

If there are no identities in Outlook Express, the tree is unavailable.

Address Book – if this option is selected, the Outlook Express Address Book stored in a WAB file will be backed up.

If Outlook Express uses the Microsoft Outlook Address Book, this option is unavailable and you see the following text: “You can back up only a Windows Address Book stored in a *.wab file. Now your Outlook Express uses the address book stored in Microsoft Outlook Contact Store. To change the address book, use Outlook Express / Address Book / Tools / Options...”.

To check which address book is currently used, open the Address Book (Outlook Express / Tools / Address Book) and see its options (Address Book / Tools / Options). If the option “Share contact information among Microsoft Outlook and other application. Address book data will be stored in the Microsoft Outlook Contact Store.” is selected, the Microsoft Outlook Address Book is used. If the option “Do not share information among Microsoft Outlook and other application. Address book data will be stored in an Address Book (*.wab) file.” is selected, a WAB file is used.

Favorites – if this option is selected, Internet Explorer Favorites will be backed up.

If the location of the Favorites folder is not detected, this option is unavailable.

To move on to the next step, you must select data for backing up.

Navigation:
Back – go to the start page.
Next – go to step 2.
Cancel – close the Backup Wizard
Help – open help

 

Step 2 (Backup File)

Specifying the backup file and backup options.

Backup File Name – here you should specify the path to the file you want your data to be backed up in.

Use Password – select this option if you want to set a password for the backup file. Enter the password into the Password field and repeat it in the Confirm Password field.

If the Use Password option is selected, but no password is specified, the backup file will not be protected with a password.

Create *.bak file if Backup file already exists – if this option is selected, a backup copy will be created with the *.bak extension in case the backup file already exists. When a backup copy is created, the “.bak” extension is added to the file name.

Test after Backup – if this option is selected, the backed up information will be verified after the backup process is over.

Navigation:

Back – go to step 1.
Next – go to step 3.
Cancel – close the Backup Wizard
Help – open help

 

Step 3 (Summary)

Viewing backup options.

At this step you can check if all backup options are specified correctly and configure what the program should do in case any errors occur during the backup process.

Summary – the field where you can see the data selected for backing up and the specified backup file.

Options for handling errors:

Ignore Errors (all messages will be ignored) – if this option is selected, all nonfatal errors will be ignored and the backup process will continue. If the option is not selected, the backup process will be finished after the first nonfatal error. If a fatal error occurs, the backup process will be finished independent of the specified options. All errors are logged in the Error log.

Show Error messages – if this option is selected, error messages will be displayed. No matter if this option is selected, all errors are logged in the Error log.

Navigation:

Back – go to step 2.
Finish – start backing up, go to step 4.
Cancel – close the Backup Wizard
Help – open help

 

Step 4 (Backup)

Backing up.

At this step the selected data is backed up into the backup file.

At the top you can see the stage of the process. It takes the following values:

Below you can see the Progress bar that shows the progress of backing up and testing.

At the bottom there is a field where you can see the progress of backing up each separate piece of data.

Navigation:

Back – go to step 3. Available only if there are any errors.
Error Log – show the Error log, go to step 5. Available only if there are any errors.
Cancel – stop the backup process, close the Backup Wizard. Available only when backing up is in progress.
Close – close the Backup Wizard
Help – open help

 

Error Log

Error log. It is displayed if there are any errors occurred during the backup process.

Navigation:

Back – go to step 4.
Error Log – unavailable.
Close – close the Backup Wizard
Help – open help